Reviews

 

 

I Purchased this unit directly from Spiritual Audio and it is the exact unit reviewed in Stereo Times.  You can find the review on the net.  Really a fantastic sounding piece that also protects your gear.  They fly under the radar, but this unit has exceeded the performance of my past big dollar conditioners from BPT, Transparent Audio and Audio Magic.

Grannyring

Audiogon

1/29/17

 

Hello! 
I currently own a VX-9 power conditioner that I bought used about a month ago. I compared this unit to others I've had in the past as well as a PS Audio P3 regenerator head to head. Your unit decimated the PS Audio unit. It sounded broke compared to yours. Troy 3/1/2017 


 

Featured at Newport Audio Show in the Zesto Audio room.

Mahler's Symphony 1, with the Boston Philharmonic on a typically bright-sounding DG LP, had me sitting for the entire first movement, so low was the noisefloor and so high the dynamic range. AC power was being conditioned by Spiritual Audio's VX-9 power conditioner.

Filed Under: T.H.E. Show Newport 2012

By: John Atkinson Posted: Jun 7, 2012

 

Firehouse Recording studios have just installed the new VX-9 and VX-6 power conditioners with great results. Located in Pasadena ca. Bernie Becker 9/12/2016 

 

Spiritual Audio VX-9 Power Conditioner ($2,500): The VX-9 power conditioner enhanced the performance of every component connected to it, yielding cumulative system-wide improvements: an exceptionally quiet noise floor, improved clarity, and more clearly defined sonic images. Capable of passing 2500 watts at 20amps, the conditioner ensured the full benefit of my dedicated 20amp line, and two sets of 'Digital Source Tuning' outlets allow the user to subtly tailor the sound of source components to his/her taste. With a simple steel chassis instead of costly milled billet, the quality was clearly on the inside where i like it - An excellent sing-piece improvement for an entire system. (Greg Simmons) Stereo Times

 

Spiritual Audio AC Conditioner VX-12 ($10k):

Sweet sounding, yet articulate and as musically convincing as they come. The VX-12 is the complete opposite of uninvolving and lacking energy. "Also, the VX-12 also is the only power conditioner that allows the listener to tune his or hers digital and analog front-end with either the warm or sharp outlets." Either way, the VX-12's inherent qualities that impressed me the most was its intense see-through level of transparency without any loss of harmonics or dynamics. Having 12 outlets allows the VX-12 to specifically handle big rigs Wow!. (Clement Perry) Stereo Times

 

 

As a manufacturer, it is important to have the best quality system for both demonstrations, and in development of future products.  There are many options available if you do not build a component yourself, so the process of choosing equipment can be just as trying as it is for the customers.  I have been quite impressed with the VX-12 from Spiritual Audio, as it has performed significantly above other power distribution options I have experienced.  The three things that have stood out the most for me are the sound staging, the bass, and the dynamics. It does not seem limited at all, even the amp sounds better plugged into the VX-12 than from the wall, with no adverse affect.  A very highly recommended component!'

Nathan Vander Stoep

www.NVSsound.com

8/1/2013

 

We’ve all seen the ads hyping devices like this and what dramatic improvements they can make in your system. Like you, I’ve wondered “do they really work some magic, or make any improvements at all”?!

I would like to say the Spiritual Audio VX-9 made the most impressive change I've ever heard in my system,.. I’d like to say that, but I'd be lying – or, as other publications might say, telling the truth.  However, the truth is that the improvement is so dramatic that no one, absolutely no one could ever believe that a power conditioner could (and I mean this literally!) wreak havoc in my musical mind; improve the sound of my systems, and make me want MORE of the same...a return to these days of staying up really late and listening to "just one more side!"


I have never heard the muscular changes (that's the word entering my mind with every CD or LP I play) that the VX-9 did in either of my two systems.  The vintage system, collectively, outclassed any modern equipment I've had in THAT set-up.  The improvement in my big system...well, I'm still trying to figure that one out.

The hums and buzzes that had plagued both systems for a number of months disappeared. Not being an electrical engineer or a household electrician, I can't definitively say why, but I imagine the grounding techniques used in the VX-9 erased all the bugs. RAID!  I'm not sure whether it's crawling, flying, biting, gnawing or sucking or what...but those bugs were eliminated. Music became easier to listen to!  Lyrics more easily understood; instruments differing from each other (violin or viola?) easily discerned in every recording I played.


Stereomojo:

Mike Peshkin

 

All I can say is “wow.”  I took the device home, plugged my gear into it, and started listening.  My first thought was something along the lines of “Is this really my system?”  Everything was bigger and better:  the soundstage, the weight and timbre of voices and instruments, the precise location of performers in the soundstage, and as Mike said earlier, the blackness of the background from which all of this emerged.  It was revelatory, much like my first hearing of Serenade to Music.  And spiritual.  I definitely found myself connecting with the music and the performers on a deeper level; a more human level. I’ve played with lesser such devices and have slept more soundly at night knowing that my gear was protected from deadly power surges.  Maybe they even made things sound better, which was an added bonus.  I just wasn’t prepared for what the VX-9 did for my system.  It’s definitely the solid foundation upon which the rest of my system is built.  Think of it that way, and one can see the logic of the investment.

Stereomojo:

Dr. John Richardson

 

Well the XV-9 was great and didn't hold back the system a bit. The system as a whole sounded and ran beautiful. All the components kept up with each other...no weak links. ROOM EQUIPMENT LIST: Audio Power Labs 50TNT Mono block Tube Amplifier $47,500.00 pair. The Memory Player 64 $17,500.00. Leonardo Model 8 - Ribbon-Planer Speaker, 20Hz to 100kHz, 2/way, 93db sensitivity  $65,000. High Fidelity Cables CT-1 Ultimate Interconnect - Patented Magnetic Conduction construction  $4,950.00 1.5 meter RCA pair CT-1 Ultimate Speaker Cable - Patented Magnetic Conduction construction $7,800.00 2.0 meter bi-wire pair Wave Guide AC Conditioner - Patented Magnetic Conduction construction $10,000.00 8 receptacles/15 amp.Laufer Teknik AXPONA Chicago Show 2013.

 

 

"The Spiritual Audio VX-9 power conditioner is a keeper plain and simple". I let the VX-9 burn in for about a week straight before doing critical listening.
I am currently using an Integra DTR 80.3 receiver and an Oppo 105. Both of which were upgraded slightly. I would consider them okay performers but not up to the caliber of my previous high end rig. After connecting my Integra DTR 80.3 receiver and Oppo 105 BRP into the VX-9 the affect that comes to mind is "focus". Music was purer, cleaner, and had a greater presence. Before inserting the VX-9 the music presentation was scattered and blurry. The fog had been lifted off and a more enjoyable presentation unfolded. The term "black background" is thrown around a lot but that is the best way to describe the affect the VX-9 had. Nothing but music on a stage. The bass was good after a week of play but has gotten better and better as the VX-9 burned in. The bass is now deep and controlled. Voices are incredible sounding and it was easy to image the singer in the room with you. The change in pitches and subtle nuances occurring during the recording were exposed. 
The bottom line is the Spiritual Audio VX-9 took average sounding components and allowed them to show their true potential. There was a transformation that occurred and that is undeniable. 
I read the Stereomojo article about the VX-9 and was impressed with what the reviewers had to say. After owning the VX-9 I now agree with their assessments. I have owned other power conditioners but none touch the VX-9.
Best Regards

Kevin From KY 

thankful@twc.com

1/13/2014

 

 

So what happened when I replaced the old Power Wedge on the source side with the “baby” VX-6?  Well, more of the same of what I described just above:  music emanated from an even “blacker” background than before, and I was able to discern even more precise layering of the soundstage and pinpoint imaging.  Better yet, the VX-6 even seemed to cure a mild and somewhat transient hum I’d been experiencing for some time, which now that I think about it might have had something to do with the transformer in the old Power Wedge.  There’s a lesson in all of this:  if you can continue lowering the noise floor relative to the signal you want to keep, you’ll get more musical information in the form of subtle harmonic and spatial cues that you were probably missing before.

 

Besides fleshing out the harmonic intricacies of our recorded music, I’d be tempted to say that the VX-6 really doesn’t impart a sound of its own into my system, and that’s a good thing.  Even so, Bill Glenn suggests that the device itself, like all of his other power conditioners, is sensitive to upstream changes such as swapping power cables.  Bill told me that he has gotten good (but audibly different) results from powering his conditioners with cables from Cabledyne, Paul Speltz Anticables, Triode Wire, and his own Black Widow model.  My VX-6 shipped with an attractive power cable from Cabledyne ($385 for a 1.5 meter run), and Bill also sent along the Anticables Level 3 Reference cord ($330 for a five-foot run) to play with as well.  While swapping power cords to my power conditioner seems a bit on the nutty side to me personally, I decided to do some comparisons to see if I could tune into the kinds of variations Bill reports hearing.

 

I’d gotten used to the sound with the VX-6 powered via the Cabledyne cord, which I’d describe as fast, sure-footed, and punchy.  I then spent some time with the Anticables cord in place, and I definitely heard a real, albeit subtle, difference in sound.  What I got was a more tonally lush, perhaps softer and less edgy, presentation of the music.  I can’t be altogether sure, but I think that the Anticables cord also provided a slightly more recessed soundstage, seemingly pushing the performers back a bit behind the speakers.  Normally, the ATC SCM19 (version 2) speakers I use tend to bring the soundstage more forward than other speakers I’ve employed in the past, so it’s interesting to hear that slightly more retreating soundstage again.

There’s absolutely no doubt that installing the Spiritual Audio VX-6 power conditioner improved the overall sound of my system.  Regardless of which power cord I use with it, I’m finding that I’m spending more time enjoying the music and less time wondering how to fix the little problems that always seem to drive the typical audiophile back on to the upgrade merry-go-round.  What really surprises me is how much of an effect the VX-6 has on simple digital playback, given that the only thing in the digital chain it’s powering is my Sound Devices USBPre2 audio interface.  Here, that device is only used as a digital converter, exchanging the usb signal from my Mac Mini computer for a S/PDIF signal to ultimately be decoded at my Antelope Audio DAC.  Just another piece of evidence, I suppose, to support the conjecture that in computer-based audio, everything matters.  I’d consider the VX-6 to be a worthwhile purchase based on the improved digital audio I’m hearing alone, but there’s more to the story.

 

The benefits don’t just end with improved digital playback, either.  Recall that I’ve also plugged my turntable and phono stage into the VX-6.  One of my goals is to obtain the cleanest possible analog playback, as I really enjoy archiving my vinyl (much of which is quite old and hard to find) in the digital domain.  Here, the VX-6’s lowered noise floor benefits that effort noticeably as well, resulting in even better, more resolved needle-drop analog to digital conversions via the USBPre2.  Icing on the cake, perhaps?  Either way, I’m really digging it.

 

Like the VX-9, I now consider Spiritual Audio’s VX-6 to be an indispensable part of my audio system, at least in the capacity in which I have been using it.  Also, like the VX-9, I’m finding a way to keep it here for the long haul.  Again, a job well done, Bill Glenn and Spiritual Audio!

Stereomojo:

Dr. John Richardson

 

Awesome Audiogon experience. Tremendous product. I am hearing things I wasn't hearing before! Highly recommended! VX-6

Helsa from Audiogon

August 26, 2015 

 

Wow! The New VX-12

I find it difficult at times to articulate the differences in sound reproduction that equipment makes, but if I can say anything, there was nothing but music coming from my speakers.  No weird noises, tighter bass, and a more focused soundstage. I have had it in my system for many months now and have been spoiled by its riches.  It will be hard for it to go back...

Positive Feedback:

Pete Davey 10/26/2016